• 5,784,572
    REGISTERED
  • 51,267
    ONLINE NOW

Stop Immersive Mode from “Panicking” with Xposed

Difficulty:
1
Stop Immersive Mode from “Panicking” with Xposed

As we mentioned many times, KitKat was a quite substantial update to Android. The biggest change was probably the introduction of ART as an optional new runtime compiler. One of the other highlights is the new immersive mode. If you aren’t familiar with the name, it’s like entering a full screen mode on your device. Your software buttons are hidden, and you can bring back the status bar by swiping down from the top of the screen.

When you enter immersive mode for the first time, you are forced to accept a message explaining what immersive mode is and how to get back your navigation and status bars. This is then stored in memory, and you won’t have to accept this once again. However, Google implemented a “panic mode” for the more forgetful out there. This mode is actuated when a user turns off the screen and turns it back on within 5 seconds while in immersive mode. After that, the immersive mode message returns. Needless to say, that it’s not a convenient situation for those who have a habit of locking and unlocking their screens. Thankfully, XDA Forum Moderator GermainZ¬†wrote an Xposed Module to prevent panic mode from being activated. The module simply disables the message and the annoyance. To use the module, your device must first be rooted, and you must be on the latest version of Xposed Framework.

If you would like to disable immersive mode’s panic mode, make your way to the module thread and give it a try.

_________
Want something on the XDA Portal? Send us a tip! -- Join us for xda:devcon 2014!
Advertisment
Advertisement

XDA TV: Most Recent Video

Buy/Sell on Swappa

  • Nexus 5 (Unlocked) buy | sell
  • Galaxy Note 3 (T-Mobile) buy | sell
  • HTC One M7 (Verizon) buy | sell
  • Galaxy S 5 (Unlocked) buy | sell
  • Nexus 7 2013 buy | sell
  • Swappa is the official marketplace of XDA