Google Photos gets account switching gesture and “Skipped suggestions” section

Google Photos gets account switching gesture and “Skipped suggestions” section

Google Photos is arguably the company’s best app and now it’s getting a few features to make it even better. It’s pretty common for people to use Google services with multiple accounts. The company recently started rolling out a quick account switching gesture to some Google apps. Photos is getting this feature along with a method for recovering skipped automatic creations.

We first saw the quick account switching gesture pop up in Google Drive back in August. The gesture allows you to very quickly switch between accounts by simply swiping up or down on the user avatar in the top corner. The gesture later made its way to Gmail and was being tested in Google Photos. The gesture is now finally present for users along with the redesigned account picker menu. The user avatar now also shows upload progress with a blue circle and up arrow. When uploads are complete, the circle is green with a checkmark.

Next up is a “Skipped suggestions” section in the Settings. Google Photos is constantly making collages, clip videos, adding filters, and doing other automatic stuff with your photos. The “Skipped suggestions” section is where you can see a history of all the automatic creations that you dismissed. Next time you accidentally delete a creation you can go here to get it back.

These new features are showing up in Google Photos version 4.33.0.28404087, but it looks like another server-side update is enabling them. You can always make sure you’re running the latest version, force close, and clear cache to try to force it, but that doesn’t always work.

Google Photos
Google Photos
Developer: Google LLC
Price: Free

Source: Android Police

Want more posts like this delivered to your inbox? Enter your email to be subscribed to our newsletter.

READ THIS NEXT