OnePlus 8 and OnePlus 8 Pro to launch globally on April 14th

OnePlus 8 and OnePlus 8 Pro to launch globally on April 14th

Shortly after the launch of the OnePlus 7T and OnePlus 7T Pro last year, we started seeing leaks about OnePlus’ next flagships — the OnePlus 8 and the OnePlus 8 Pro. Over the last couple of months, we’ve learned quite a bit about the upcoming devices through various sources. For instance, we already know that the OnePlus 8 series will opt for hole-punch displays, will offer 5G support, might feature a 120Hz display, and might even include wireless charging. Rumors also suggested that the OnePlus 8 series could be revealed on April 15th and that OnePlus was recruiting early reviewers for the upcoming devices. More recently, we saw a leaked press render of the OnePlus 8 showcasing an all-new Interstellar Glow finish. However, up until now, we had no official statement from the company regarding the launch.

XDA VIDEO OF THE DAY

Earlier today, the company shared a cryptic message on Twitter with an image of its Bullets Wireless 2 earphones aligned to form an 8. The message read as follows: “Looking at the way to free your music or looking at a sign…Maybe both!” This led us to believe that the company was finally prepping up to announce a launch date for the OnePlus 8 series and that it might even launch its first truly wireless earphones alongside its flagship lineup. Now, the company has finally revealed that the OnePlus 8 series will be launched globally on April 14th.

As per a post on the OnePlus Community forums, the company will be live streaming the launch event on its official website and on YouTube on April 14 at 11:00AM EDT/4PM BST/5PM CEST/8:30PM IST.

The post also confirms that devices in the company’s latest flagship series will feature 5G support and a 120Hz high refresh rate display. However, the company has still not revealed any information about the truly wireless earphones that it hinted at in the previous tweet. Regardless, if a recent tweet from reputed leaker Max J. (@MaxJMB) is to be believed, the truly wireless earbuds will be launched alongside the OnePlus 8 series next month.

About author

Pranob Mehrotra
Pranob Mehrotra

A Literature and Linguistics graduate with a keen interest in everything Android. When not writing about tech, Pranob spends most of his time either playing League of Legends or lurking on Reddit.

We are reader supported. External links may earn us a commission.